Skip to main content

Who We Are

Board Members: Clint Coffee,  Nancy Henderson, Sarah Montoya, Roxanne Bailey, Carol Naegele,  and Dena Simmel.

Library History: The Hawthorne Club of Eastland was organized in 1901 when the estimated population of the town was 300. The Club's first project was a public library that contained 700 books. The books were originally shelved in the home of Mrs. J. L. Johnson, who was also the first appoint librarian. 

The Club's name was changed to the Thursday Afternoon Club in 1916. That same year, the Club became affiliated with the Texas Federation of Women's Clubs. The library was subsequently housed in the basement of the Texas State Bank. 

In 1925, The Thursday Afternoon Club sponsored a drive to establish the library in the Women's Club building at 105 W. Plummer. Soon the library  was moved to that address.

In 1972, the library had outgrown the space. ON November 1972, te Thursday Afternoon Club purchased a building of 8,000 square feet at 210 S. Lamar Street for a new library home. Eastland County's 1973 Centennial inspired the renaming of the library as the Centennial Memorial Library. Dedication took place on October 7, 1973. The building became debt free February 26, 1974.

The library was legally incorporated December 5, 1986.

On April 4, 2002,  members of the Club voted to withdraw from the Texas Federation of Women's Clubs.

In 2015, members of the Club voted to change the name of the Club to the Library Club.